PDA

View Full Version : Setup. Ether north west uk or from themonn.

LeonN
Nov-22-2010, 1:33pm
Hi all. I am about to bye my first OK mandolin. I think it will be 'the loar lm 600-vs' from germany. I think it's from a shop called 'thomann'. Does anyone know about how good there setup is? And if it's not to hot or it's sporadic and Canot be relied on ware do I take my new instrument to be set up? Wot shuld I expect? Is it something I sit and whate walst it's done or do I drop it of one weekend and pick it up the next? Haw mutch might it cost.

I am based on the Wirral between Liverpool and Wales but don't mind traveling for a good job.

Any help and advise will be appreciated. I am still quite new to all this and had my cheep mandolin not suffered ware to it's frets I probably wuld not be replasing it. Although I am exited about my purchase I am apprehensive about spending wot to me is a lot of money on something I may not yet be able to appreciate and Culd easily be ripped of regards this.

Dagger Gordon
Nov-22-2010, 4:12pm
I have bought some PA gear from Thomann.

They are basically a huge warehouse type company, and I wouldn't expect a good set-up (actually any set-up) from them. It will be straight as it comes from the factory, I would think (which might be OK).

If you expect a local music shop to then set it up for you, I'm afraid I think that would be poor form. One of the advantages of buying an instrument from a reputable shop is precisely because you can expect them to set it up to your requirements. You may pay slightly more, but you are actually getting something for it. It is a struggle for local shops to keep going if everybody buys stuff from cheaper mail order firms, and I think you would be rubbing salt in the wound to then ask the local shop to set it up for you.

If you want to buy online but local to yourself maybe try these people:

http://www.the-music-room.com/

or maybe

http://www.hobgoblin.com/

LeonN
Nov-22-2010, 4:48pm