PDA

View Full Version : Strings for bluegrass

CoolSpring
Nov-21-2010, 6:51pm
I'm new to the mandolin and am interested in playing bluegrass. I have a cheap beginner model mandolin to kind of learn the chords and maybe a few songs and see if I am interested or if I just want to stick with my banjo. So far I am loving it and thinking I need to upgrade. :grin: My question is what type of strings should I be looking at? I have no idea what is on my mandolin as I haven't changed the strings. I think that I want to go lighter to ease up on my fingers, this mandolin is a lot harder on them than my banjo. Can you help me as far as a good place to start? I did some searches and saw that there were a few strings that came up quite a bit. I didn't really see anything refrencing particular types of music though. What do most bluegrass players out there use? I figure I'll end up buying a few different types and just trying them out. Thank you for your help!

Rodney Riley
Nov-21-2010, 6:58pm
Why a Martin Bluegrass set. M-450's. They are a lighter guage then their regular Mando strings. Love them on my Godin and will be putting them back on my Weber Gallatin soon.

Jim Ferguson
Nov-21-2010, 7:50pm
Heh Coolspring.......I use Daddario J74 strings on my mandolin. They are a medium guage string & I have always liked them. The J73 are a lighter string. I suggest that you choose a brand (Martin, Daddario, or some other) and try out a light & medium string set and see what feels best to you & then use those regularly. Good luck as you venture into the mandolin experience. Once you've had mando.....you'll never go back...:-)
Peace,
Jim

Miked
Nov-21-2010, 10:01pm
It will ultimately be a personal preference thing. I've been using the Gibson Sam Bush Monel strings for a few years and like 'em a lot. They bring out a nice woody tone in my F-9 and don't lose their tone as quickly as the phosphor bronze strings. To quote Mr. Bush: "They even sound good when they're dead!"

Rob Gerety