PDA

View Full Version : First Post: My lineup of 5

jnigh
Nov-12-2010, 10:32pm
Hi everyone. I've been lurking here for awhile, but was finally motivated to join because I had some questions. I've been playing mandolin casually for about 15 years or so. My first instrument is the Viola. I'm classically trained. I love the mandolin and it's in my blood to play it. Here's a link to view my collection.

<link removed by site owner. not working and was possibly problematic for other reasons>

< left ----- right >
1. Martin Backpacker Mandolin
2. ? Banjolin
3. Sears Roebuck Mandolin
4. Washburn M3SW Mandolin
5. Victoria (B&J) Flat Back Mandola?

The Sears mando and the banjolin belonged to my grandpa. They started off my love for mandolins. I play the Washburn most of the time. Not a bad instrument, but I'd like to upgrade to a stronger instrument at some point.

I just picked up the Victoria today. Got it on Craigslist for $100, which I thought was decent. I know next to nothing about it though, as there's really very little in the way of info about Victoria instruments on the web. It was advertised as a mandolin, but the finger spacing is a good bit larger than my other mandolins, and it's also longer and has a deeper body. Is it a mandola? I haven't been able to find if they even made mandolas. If someone could help me learn a little about the Victoria that would be awesome. Being a viola player it's awesome to think that's what this is.

Bill Snyder
Nov-13-2010, 10:24am
Your link takes me to an "Access Denied" site.

bratsche
Nov-13-2010, 5:26pm
Welcome to the Cafe! We can never have too many violists on board. :grin:

And yes, please do provide a better link to your photo. As one who prefers mandolas, I'd love to see your newest acquisition. And to know where the heck you live, to find such neat stuff on your local Craigslist!

bratsche

hummingbirdsprings
Nov-13-2010, 7:55pm
Reload the photos please. Have you tried using photobucket?

jnigh
Nov-13-2010, 8:57pm