PDA

View Full Version : 1st time buyer from Japan...

Tokyopuffer
Oct-29-2010, 7:36pm
Hey guys and gals,

I am a newbie here. I have been perusing the forums looking at all of the volumes of info you guys got here. It seems like a friendly bunch of people.

Well, to the point. I have wanted to play the mandolin for a long while now. I am originally from Chicago. When I was at home I was still a poor Univ. student. Now that I have graduated, I have the money, but I live in Japan. Not many mando players here and finding instruments is really hard.

I recently made a friend who plays mandolin in the park with a few other guys. (A real friendly bunch. They are always playing in the park and enjoying a good bottle of wine on Saturdays.) He was really excited that someone else wanted to learn mando in Tokyo. He has been a great help and even introduced me to the forum here.

He is willing to help me find a good mando here in Tokyo, but the prices are really steep. I have my eyes on an Eastman MD505, but the price is $1040.00!!!

I was wondering if it would be better to just order from themandolinstore.com. I have heard only good things about them here on the forum. I was looking at the Eastman MD505, Kentucky KM505, or the Loar LM400VS.

Am I right to think that these are comparable mandos? Is there one that shines above the rest? Would it be good for a 1st timer to buy online from themadolinstore.com?

Thanks for the help in advance!
Best,
Dean in Tokyo

Miked
Oct-29-2010, 9:10pm
Welcome to the Cafe, Dean!

I can't say which of those mandolins would be better, but I do know that Dennis Vance will make sure you're a satisfied customer. I've purchased and traded a couple mandolins from Dennis and he's treated me very well.

Jill McAuley
Oct-29-2010, 9:59pm