PDA

View Full Version : Chords .... is this a common Mandolin thing?

hedgehog
Sep-27-2010, 12:08pm
I've posted before about being aan absolute beginner so this road is a new one for me. Naturally the first thing I did was go out and get a beginners book on Bluegrass Mandolin. The very first Chord it teachs is "G" and what a tedious chord it is with a serious reach with the pinky finger. It's not a big deal really, it just takes some time to learn well. I mention this as only background.

This weekend while in a music store I wandered over to the instrument books and start looking at the chord books for the mandolin. I have to admit that now I'm becomming a bit confused. First I looked at the "G" chord, What? Then I looked at the other Chords I knew. What? Then I started comparing the chords on a chord sheet, a chord book and a beginners book. WHAT! Many of the Chord shapes were not the same in any of the books or the "G" chord was the same as the "Gb" (forgive the inaccurate symbol it's as close as I've got on this keyboard) chord. Is this common? Which is right or are they actually ALL right. I must say that the two finger "G" chord is much easier to play than the four finger chord, but somehow that feels lazy......

Michael

Brent Hutto
Sep-27-2010, 12:12pm
Bluegrass accompaniment relies heavily on four-finger chords that can be played in a certain style called a "chop". Basically you need no open strings so that you can coordinate your hands and cut off each chord a split-second after it is strummed.

Beginner bluegrass mandolin books do indeed start you out on one of the more difficult techniques of mandolin playing. Makes me glad I'm not a bluegrasser!

hedgehog
Sep-27-2010, 12:22pm