PDA

View Full Version : Bridge position and impact on tone and volume?

Douglas McMullin
Aug-25-2010, 9:14pm
The intonation on my Phoenix Standard had been working its way out of shape for a little while, and I had attributed that to humidity changes over the summer months. My tone and volume were still great to my ear, and since it was not out all that much I had left it be for while. Last night I decided to make a quick adjustment, which required moving the bridge aft 1/16" or so, and something interesting happened. Volume and tone each had a very substantial change for the better. At first I thought it must be wishful thinking or my imagination, but the change felt like quite a shift. My wife even yelled down shortly after I started playing post adjustment and asked why I was playing so hard. Then I got the bright idea to pull out my digital recorder that I had been using, and sure enough, with same position/distance and settings I was now maxing out the recording levels frequently when I was well below them an hour before. Unfortunately I did not save any of the earlier recording attempts, so I can't A/B the audio.

I know this must sound a little implausible, but I swear that this bridge adjustment has had a huge impact. I came home tonight, grabbed the mando, and every bit of it was still there.

So the question is what has happened? Did I get the bridge back on some sweet spot over the top or bracing? I am pretty sure that the bridge had the same contact with the top before and after the move, so it does not appear to be a leaning bridge type fix. I am not complaining as the increased volume and bark keep causing my jaw to drop, but I would love an explanation that will support the notion that I am not dreaming.

Rob Gerety
Aug-25-2010, 9:25pm
My bet - leaning bridge syndrome! It doesn't take much.

F-2 Dave
Aug-25-2010, 9:44pm