PDA

View Full Version : Yet another head-scratcher Mandolin ID Thread..

modorange
Aug-18-2010, 9:25am
Hi.. Newbie here, my absolutely first post on MC.. I am a drummer with a guitarist son, and another guitarist in the area was trying to put together a set of drums, and he showed me his mandolin, so I have been trying, thus far with limited results, to figure out where/when/by whom it was made.

It is a bent top flat back mandolin, has an irregular-shaped sound hole (Bell shape?) a nice apparently solid spruce top and apparently rosewood back and sides. some of the plastic pearloid inlays have fallen out of the inlay channels, and it features a classical style headstock with round plastic tuning buttons. It appears to have some paint overspray and not sure of the level of quality, but there are signs that it could be like a stencil brand or something. It came with a solid wood case which was painted gold.

There's an engraved/painted tortoiseshell inlay surrounding the sound hole, which has a butterfly on the bass side and some flowers on the treble side. It has what appears to be a painted-on rope-like pattern along the sides of the top. Teardrop shaped body.. The back and sides are coming slightly apart in a few places, and there's a dinged string channel in the nut although the strings still run along it well. It has a zero fret and is about a 13 1/4" scale. Any info whatsoever on this unique and nice-sounding instrument would be greatly appreciated.. Thanks! Great forum.. John C. AKA modorange

Hopefully I can load some pictures:

Martin Jonas
Aug-18-2010, 9:54am