PDA

View Full Version : Different gauge strings in courses

Ade B
Aug-12-2010, 3:26am
Hi. I am totally new to Mandolin but have been playing guitar for 30 years. I just bought an fairly inexpensive instrument to learn on. Immediately I found the strings were tarnished, dull sounding and probably a poor make. Worse was I found it almost impossible to fret the instrument above 5th fret due to the tension in the strings. Call me a wimp but I want it to be easy to play while I am learning!

So not knowing what gauge strings were on the mando I bought a new set of the lightest strings I could find 9-34. Bingo, the instrument is very easy to play now and is bright sounding, but naturally I seem to have lost a bit of resonance due to the light strings. The ease of play is mainly due to the lighter pressure required to fret the strings but also probably a little of the relief in the neck has gone giving a slightly lower action. The action seems really good now.

So now I want to find the best compromise of sound and playability. I will buy a new set of heavier strings and I plan to try one light and one heavy string in each course as is done on a 12 string guitar. If that doesn't work I will try the Hybrid heavy bottom, light top.

I just want to know if this is common, if mixing strings in courses will have any disadvantages and if anyone else can share there thoughts or string gauge/manufacturer advice.

Thanks

Steve L
Aug-12-2010, 8:29am
I don't think I'd do that. Keeping a mandolin in tune is tough enough without 2 different string diameters vibrating at the same pitch.
That gauges you're using are very,very light. I'd go up to something like 10-15-24-36 like the GHS A250s. If the action seems really rough, see about taking it somewhere for a set up or diagnosis. There may be too much relief in the neck, a funky neck angle or a bit of top sinkage or it could just be a tweak of the bridge, truss rod or nut is in order.

Good luck...let us know how you make out.