PDA

View Full Version : It's nearly time to buy!

BumbleWasp
Jul-30-2010, 12:17pm
Well, a few weeks ago I posted that I was looking at a new Breedlove quartz OF, and would potentially be ordering it within the next few weeks. At this moment, I wouldn't be able to buy that, but as luck would have it, I've stumbled across a used Breedlove Quarts OF 'Burst for $750 with a slight finish flaw at the end of the fingerboard.
For me, this is too good to be true. I plan to order it with Coated D'Arrio phosphor bronze strings installed, and shipped in a new case.

Being the newb that I am, I hate to have to ask whether or not tax is shown on the sales price of the instrument online?
That's to say, if it says it's $750, will I be able to buy it with $750? or will it be 750+tax?
I've never bought anything online because I've never had a reason to, and whether or not tax is included could make or break me :)) I've been working my butt off at McDonalds for two months to get this bad boy and impatience is a curse of mine!

To sum up questions, does list price include tax online?
and are Coated D'Arrio strings good to get as a beginner?

Thanks,
KC

Jim Garber
Jul-30-2010, 12:25pm
List price does not include tax but most online retailers only charge tax if they ship in the same state that their business is registered in. What you will also be charged for is the shipping. However, many online retailers will give you free shipping if you buy something over a certain amount. They will usually mention this all over their site.

You should be able to call the store to speak to a human before ordering to make sure you are getting what you want at the price you want it.

I assume you are talking about D'Addario EXP-74 strings? Those are perfectly fine for a beginner tho you might want to go for a light gauge if you never played a fretted instrument before.

BumbleWasp
Jul-30-2010, 4:25pm
Thanks for the insight, Jim.
I live in Ontario, Canada, so I assume I won't have to worry about tax.