PDA

View Full Version : "Modern" Jazz

dwc
Oct-02-2004, 1:58pm
I went to see Jazz Mandolin Project(more a jam band than a jazz band, but I was nonetheless impressed) last night and it started me thinking, is there any progressive jazz left? I have seen lots of recomendations on this forum for Jethro Burns and Tiny Moore (both of whom are great) and tab recomendations for swing and bob and every other subgenre of jazz ever concieved by a music critic. However, no one seems to be trying to push the boundaries of jazz beyond what has already been done. I am as guilty as anyone, copying Django solos and listening to the pantheon of jazz gods. But, is there any one, on the forum, performing live, or recording who is trying to find a unique voice?

SternART
Oct-02-2004, 2:35pm
I'm not performing live or even a professional musician, I play as a hobby......but I am a professional artist evolving a personal abstract language, that is a unique voice. There are parallels between art & jazz.....Sometimes art goes too far and then needs to look back to its roots. Just because it is new or avante garde doesn't mean it is great art.......At some point you are considered hip if you are looking back & playing in a format inspired by da good stuff....the classics....in jazz, maybe the qualities of say Hot Club, or BeeBop. The really great classic stuff has legs and a modern version can be forward looking too. The trick is to make it of our time, and not just a photograph or recording of a past era. IMO to still have your inspiration in your voice. but to add your personal stamp is the ticket. In other words you don't have to invent the wheel, to design a unique vehicle and roll with it.

Ted Eschliman
Oct-02-2004, 4:14pm
Excellent post, Art.
I have to agree; we have the responsibility to master the "classic" before we have the right (let alone ability) to break new ground.