PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Jam

Steve-in-PA
Feb-12-2004, 11:05pm
Hello everyone,

I'm looking for people to jam with in the Harrisburg, Pennsylvania area. I've been playing mando for 6 months and guitar for 10+ years. I'm hooked on the mandolin and want to get a weekly/monthly jam session going. I'm into all acoustic bluegrass-jamgrass music..

Thanks for this site and all the helpful info.

Steve

jim simpson
Feb-13-2004, 7:58am
Ed Pollak, fiddle player maintains a jam page for PA and surrounding area. Check out: www.icdc.com/~fmoore/edspage.htm
Hope this helps - Jim

Steve-in-PA
Feb-13-2004, 10:43pm
Thanks for the info. Jim. If there's anyone else in the area looking to get together once in a while for a jam please get in touch.
Steve

stefeb
Feb-14-2004, 6:59am
Meadowood Music, in Kutztown, PA (the place where I bought my Weber) has a jam session the first and third Monday of the month. It's from seven to eight. I am thinking of going this Monday night. Never jammed before, so am a bit nervous.

There are players of all levels, and the owner has it set up to be more like a jamming lesson. I like that concept.

bassfiddler
Feb-26-2004, 2:38pm
Hi Steve-in-PA;
I play bass fiddle for the Bluegrass Academy in Campbelltown PA, right on Rt. 322 outside Hershey, in the old Firehall. Why don't you come out for our March 5th jam? We also have an open stage. There is a $3 charge because we have to rent the hall from the music store that owns it, that night. We hold these informal jams the first Friday of every month, from 7 to about 10. We'd love to see you. Ask for Robin, bass - if you do come, don't be shy.

KevinM
Feb-26-2004, 8:20pm
Hey I'm near Elverson PA near the Morgantown Exit of the turnpike - how far is it to your jam, bassfiddler? What do you guys play? Monroe, fiddle tunes, Old Joe Clark?

<so I can practice and not make a complete fool of myself>

Steve-in-PA
Feb-27-2004, 7:57am
Thanks for the reply's,