PDA

View Full Version : Flying Fingers

Rich
Sep-30-2004, 5:16pm
I believe my speed is now as fast as I can get it until I break a very old bad habit, flying fingers. My left hand fingers come further and further from the fretboard the faster and faster I play! Does anyone know of some good exercises to help break me of this problem? I'd really love some help. I've been playing for 10 years and I'm afraid this may be hard to cure.
Thanks!

ShaneJ
Sep-30-2004, 5:38pm
Try practicing scales and arpeggios with a twist--as you go up, keep your left hand fingers down where you put them until they MUST move to play the next note. Have them all planted on the scale positions as you come down and pick one up (just enough to get a clean tone) at a time. Do that with a metronome at a slow speed and gradually increase speed.

I've done that (not enough), and it's helped me to keep my fingers lower. I need to practice some more to get even better, but it's a start.

I'm no instructor, so I'm sure someone else may have an even better suggestion. Good luck!

Jonathan James
Sep-30-2004, 5:43pm
That is great exercise. My instructor calls it "Keep'em Down" Really frustrating at first, cause that ring and pinky fingers always want to pull off...

Rroyd
Sep-30-2004, 8:42pm