PDA

View Full Version : Ozark 2001 'portuguese' mandolin

fender3491
Jun-22-2010, 1:13pm
Hello,

I'm a classical guitarist hoping to learn classical music on the mandolin, and I have seen this cheap mandolin on ebay which i am considering. I realise it is cheap and therefore won't be great quality, but for beginner etc i was wondering how good it is?

Thanks for your time.
fender3491

fender3491
Jun-22-2010, 1:19pm
Ooops forgot to link...

http://www.fretmusic.co.uk/ozark-2001-portuguese-style-mandolin-c-538-p-1-pr-16908.html

Martin Jonas
Jun-22-2010, 6:44pm
These are made in Romania by Hora and sold under a fairly wide variety of names (and with a variety of designs of scratchplate) -- most commonly discussed here on the Cafe in their "Troubadour"-branded incarnation. The name "Portuguese" is a bit of a mis-nomer, as the connection to actual Portuguese instruments is remote. This style of mandolins was introduced in the 1920s in Germany, and was called "Portuguese" because they looked a bit more like Fado gitarras that a bowlback mandolin does.

The Hora (Ozark) mandolins I've seen are pretty good for the money, and they are solid-wood. However, they urgently need a setup (and ideally a new bridge fitted) to reach their full potential. The stock bridge is junk and should be replace for an ebony/bone compensated one. As you are an experienced guitar player, you may well be able to deal with those issues yourself, in which case I'd say go for it.

Martin

fender3491
Jun-23-2010, 1:59pm
Thanks a lot for your reply Martin, you've told me everything I wanted to know! Cheers!

jso
Jan-29-2013, 2:54pm