PDA

View Full Version : silvertone

keymandoguy
Sep-28-2004, 3:19pm
anyone have any experience with silvertone amplifiers. I found a 24 watt Silvertone amp at a pawn shop price $49 looks in pretty good shape. want to use that with a dynamic mike for mandolin. Indoor settings ( dont want to eletrify mandolin ) I have no experience buying mikes or amps . What do I need to watch out for ?Will this work for me Only other electrified instrument in band is Lead guitar everthing else is just miked thanks for input ! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

mandogrouch
Sep-28-2004, 7:03pm
Keymandoguy,
If you have any electric guitar palyer friends, they'll want to steal it from you, keep an eye on it. Those are classic tube amps, very sweet for overdriven sound at low volumes. You may have to get new tubes and replace the capacitor, but it's a worthwhile investment, generally speaking. I would recommend a tech for the cap replacement, the tubes are widely available on line. I don't think it'll give you a clean accoustic sound, but it was easily worth $49.00.

siren_20
Sep-28-2004, 8:04pm
A guitar amp probably will not suffice for what you'd like to do. #Unless the amp has a specific microphone level input (and I believe some Silvertones were made as early modular PA units) you'll have to use an impedance matching transformer to take the lo-z mic XLR to a 1/4" mono phone plug. #Then, after you get the output caps, any bad resistors (or worse yet, an output transformer) and/or connectors replaced, you'll have a hell of a time trying to get decent volume without feedback. #Oh, and don't forget that the tubes that this thing takes will likely need to be replaced, and that locating a quiet, early octal-type base tube (like a 6SN7 or a 6SJ7, which are common preamp tubes for amps of this ilk) can be a real pain in the arse.