PDA

View Full Version : The superior instrument.

fscotte
May-28-2010, 8:03am
Is the mandolin. I'm new to the mandolin, but not really. I've had a good one since 1999, but really just used it as a rhythm chop every now and then. For most of the last 25 years I've been flatpicking guitar in the style of TR, (I have the TR Tab Page), and I dabbled in banjo before that, was actually pretty decent on it too. Picked up the dobro a time or two, got into classical guitar and lately have been doing lots of fingerpicking ala Chet Atkins style on acoustic.

But recently something has turned me on to mandolin, don't know what happened. Well I guess I do know what happened, dad wanted me to pick the mandolin for a number our group did in church, so I actually had to sit down and figure something out on it. You know, actually make some sort of melody on a medium tempo song. As I worked on that to make it sound good and clean something clicked in my head and I was hooked. It's as if the mandolin was trying to bait me for the last 11 years with a plastic worm, then suddenly it threw on a big old juicy nightcrawler and I went for it.

What is it? I guess I can see how the music was written on mandolin. I can see the structure of the music. For some reason on guitar, it's difficult to actually see the structure of the music and how it moves and how the melody shapes and develops. Does that make sense? Hard to explain but I SEE it, I feel it moving across the fretboard as if the strings were musical notation.