PDA

View Full Version : Choosing an Instructor in NE Ohio

Ed Goist
May-13-2010, 10:15am
I'm a self-taught (poorly) guitarist who started playing mandolin 7 weeks ago. Since getting my mandolin, I have found it hard to put down, and have played it to the exclusion of my guitars.

I've decided to get some professional level instruction on mandolin, and, thanks to old postings on the Café, I have found the names of a couple of recommended instructors in my region (within 1.5 hours). They are:

* Jon Mosey (at Woodsy’s in Kent, OH) – about 50 minutes away, &
* Charley Rappaport (at Acoustic Music Works, in Pittsburgh) – about 90 minutes away

I'd love to hear any POSITIVE comments about either or both of these instructors.

(Please DO NOT post negative feedback in the thread. If you want to provide negative feedback, please do so via a private message to me. I do not think it fair or appropriate to post negative comments about an instructor on the forum).

Thanks much;
Ed

jim simpson
May-13-2010, 10:36pm
Ed,
Where in Ohio are you? I live in Wheeling, WV.
Jim

Ed Goist
May-14-2010, 8:05am
Ed,
Where in Ohio are you? I live in Wheeling, WV.
Jim

Hi Jim; Youngstown.
-Ed

jim simpson
May-14-2010, 10:32am
Ed,
I guess you're about 90-100 miles from here. I was hoping you were closer. I wonder if you might check with some local music stores as to local instructors.
Jim

Chunky But Funky
May-14-2010, 11:01am