PDA

View Full Version : What is it about those old Gibson "A" models

bigbike
Apr-28-2010, 12:44am
Of recent when I am seeing concert footage and the mandolin player is not playing a "F" model, they ARE ALWAYS playing a Gibson A. and usually either black or dark brown paddlehead, which makes them 1920 or before, I believe. They all look old. Some have missing pick guards, some have the surface starting to wear away because of agressive strumming, but no matter the band from bluegrass to folk, to some rock they are all playing these early A's.

Now my question-Why? Certainly there are newer mandolins that have electronics built in (saves from installing in the old model A's). Is it tonal quality that just can't be had-I kind of suspect that is part of it-with a newer instrument. I know if I was a pro musician I would not be globe trotting with that old of an instrument in and out of airplane holds and weather, but yet numerous bands and musicians do.

Is it because they are realitively inexpensive (as compared to a Loar) and were made in mass quantity so they are readily available? Just what is everyones opinion on it?

Capt. E
Apr-28-2010, 9:32am
My paddlehead A was made in 1922, one of the earliest fitted with a trussrod. You will find paddlehead A's made past the 1920's.

Yes, they did make quite a few, especially in the teens when the mandolin craze was at its height. But more than that, they were well made. Mine is missing the pickguard, has quite a lot of finish wear, had the nut, bridge, and several frets replaced, is still solid without any cracks and plays and sounds great. How many other things near 90 years old are still going strong. Check out the photos of my baby: http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/album.php?albumid=792

Glassweb
Apr-28-2010, 9:44am
it's the SOUND... the FEEL... and the relatively low price they can be had for. just about any paddle-head Gibson A model can be had for $1K-$3K...

jim simpson
Apr-28-2010, 9:53am