PDA

View Full Version : Elkhorn mandolins go on the tour with Zac Brown Band and Joey and

Elkhorn1
Apr-22-2010, 3:22pm
I've learned over the last couple of years that not only do you have to build a great instrument but you need to become a shameless self promoter as well. Recently I hooked up with the Grammy winning Zac Brown Band and ACM Top new country duo Joey and Rory on tour. I have a good friend, Barry Waldrep who is performing with both groups and is and incredible mandolin, banjo, and guitar player.
I got a call from Barry asking me to bring a few of my mandolins to a performance that was relatively close to home, so I loaded up the truck and headed out to see them all perform. If you haven't seen any of these folks yet you are missing a real treat! After the show Zac Brown Band members and Barry and I all sat around passing mandolins back and fourth. Zac ended up wanting to buy my personel mandolin (one I've been playing for two years) and Rory ended up buying another distressed model I had brought along. Needless to say I couldn't have been more excited about all that trasnpired!
I'm still working on Barry, we just haven't found the right Elkhorn for him yet but I'm working on one right now that might fancy his pleasure. I just wanted to share this experience with the mandolin world as times like these are sweeter when shared with others who can appreciate it.
Anyone else out there had similar experiences? I'd love to hear about it. Come visit my website some time, I've got some great mandolins available right now! http://www.elkhornmandolins.com

Fstpicker
Apr-22-2010, 10:30pm
Some nice sounding mandolins you have made. I just listened to them on your site. Very cool!

Jeff

Ivan Kelsall
Apr-22-2010, 11:50pm