PDA

View Full Version : Chord help

nickster60
Mar-30-2010, 8:56pm
I am kind of new to some of these chords or at least how they are written.

I am working on a version of Its only a paper moon

What is a C#07 or a F#07

Thanks
Nick

Galileo
Mar-30-2010, 9:08pm
I am kind of new to some of these chords or at least how they are written.

I am working on a version of Its only a paper moon

What is a C#07 or a F#07

Thanks
Nick

That would be read as a C sharp diminished 7th or a F sharp diminished 7th. Fully diminished are built by "stacking" minor thirds atop each other (i.e. C#07 is comprised of C#,E,G, and Bb).

Galileo
Mar-30-2010, 9:16pm
That would be read as a C sharp diminished 7th or a F sharp diminished 7th. Fully diminished are built by "stacking" minor thirds atop each other (i.e. C#07 is comprised of C#,E,G, and Bb).

Incidentally, since the tones are symmetrical (i.e. all chord tones are a minor third from each other) C#07=E07=G07=Bb07. I more used to seeing them expressed as C#dim7 or the degrees symbol used instead of the "0". The keyboard isn't very conducive to allowing that.

RE

swampstomper
Mar-30-2010, 11:28pm
This chord is often written just as C#º (with the degree sign), and the half-diminished chord as C#ø (with a slashed 'o'), that's the notation used by Mark Levine in the Jazz Theory book. The full-diminished with º mean root-b3-b5-bb7 (=6th) which if you spell them out indeed is minor 3rds stacked on each other: 4 x 3 semitones = 12 semitones = 1 octave, and because of that it's symmetric. These are often used as passing chords in Texas fiddle backup as well as jazz/swing/django. There is a lot of tension there -- listen to Air Mail Special (aka Good Enough to Keep) with 5 bars of Cº!