PDA

View Full Version : New Member Introduction

Tracey
Mar-23-2010, 10:07am
I've been lurking around the Cafe for a while and finally decided to join the forums.

I started playing mano at the first of the year. I've never played a string instrument before. I played clarinet high school, but now I'm 51 and having to re-learn how to read music.

My occupation requires weekly travel, the mando is perfect for travel, and I get to practice in the evenings in the hotel.

I've started working through the Hal Leonard Method book, Learned the G major scale from Chris Thile's CD and working on A major. I've also learned the old Beatles tune I Will.

I started playing on a cheap Johnson mando but was haveing trouble. I took it to a luither who diagnosed that practically none of the frets were the same height. He reworked the fret board and lowered the action. The difference was like night and day.

Oh well, you get what you pay for. And it served to get me started. Now I've been bitten by the mando bug.

I read a lot on the forums about different instruments and decided to save up for an Eastman MD505. Then the guys over at the Mandolin Store put a blond MD905 on sale that I couldn't pass up. It should arrive later this week. Woo Hoo

Now my oldest son wants to try to learn so he will inherit the Johnson. He's never played an instrument. It will be interesting to see if the mando bug bites him...

JeffD
Mar-23-2010, 10:11am
Welcome to our obsession. As you know from lurking, there are a whole lot of very knowledgable folks here, and everyone is very helpful. Sometimes there are equal and opposite experts, but thats all part of the fun.

Hope to see you around. Don't be a stranger.

swinginmandolins
Mar-23-2010, 10:13am
Welcome to the Cafe, and glad you joined in the fun!

JEStanek
Mar-23-2010, 10:28am
Welcome to the Café. Let us help you out or shoot the mandolin breeze with you. Congrats on the new instruments.

Jamie

mfalkner
Mar-23-2010, 10:28am