PDA

View Full Version : jamming

keymandoguy
Feb-11-2004, 11:47am
<= I have been playing mandolin now for 1 1/2 years playing once a week in a jam for 7 months. I thought i was starting to get to be a fairly good player ?This week a 5 piece band showed up to jam with us and I had to follow the mandolin player who made me feel rather inadequite even though he compimented me on my playing. how do you other guys handle this Decide to practice that much harder, shove it out of your mind , or just realize you aint that good yet!!I ll get there but taking longer than I thought http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

earthsave
Feb-11-2004, 11:52am
Do all three of those. There is always gonna be someone better than you at least at some aspect of playing.

Andrew Reckhart
Feb-11-2004, 11:55am
I have the same problem. Every time I feel like I am about to break through to the really good catagory somebody comes along and just blows my doors off. I guess that is a good thing, because it humbles me, shows me areas that I need to improve upon, and I can usually steal one or two of the better players licks and get some really good advice from them. I also get very inspired by superior players and find that I practyice harder if I know that they are going to be at the jam or in the crowd.

(sing it with 'Finding Nemo' in mind)
Just keep picking....just keep picking.....just keep picking

Michael H Geimer
Feb-11-2004, 12:10pm
" ... and I had to follow the mandolin player who made me feel rather inadequite even though he compimented me on my playing. "

I think you got a nice compliment from someone you think is a good player. That compliment if a fact, while your persepction of being inadequate is likely fiction. That is, I believe this guy gave you a sincere compliment, maybe you should too.

It will always help you to play with those who are above your skill level - story of my life! LOL!