PDA

View Full Version : Gibson F-9 vs. Jam Master

bg1975
Dec-30-2009, 10:39pm
Can anyone tell me what the difference is between the Gibson F-9 and the Jam Master? There is about $400-$500 difference in price and I'm not sure if the F-9 is worth the extra money.

Thanks!

majorbanjo
Dec-30-2009, 11:59pm
Well I have a F model Jam Master now and I have owned an F9.... both sound and played great....the neck is thinner on the F9....flat finger board on the F9 vs radius on Jam Master...the "Gibson" headstock was inlayed on F9 vs sticker on Jam Master....frets were smaller on F9 vs Jam Master...other than those differences don't see much difference.....I'm certainly no expert...but have owned both......they're both pretty good mandolins...

Might be able to find specifics on the Gibson website that detail more differences...I didn't research there...because it's your question....I think both are great mandolins....In fact I keep my eye on the classified for a bargain F9.....

J.Albert
Dec-31-2009, 12:18am
OK, I'll take a shot at describing what [I think] are the main differences.

F-9:
- narrow (1 1/16), flat fingerboard
- narrow frets
- traditional sunburst finish
- logo is inlaid in peghead

Jam Master:
- wider (1 3/16), radiused fingerboard
- wider frets
- stain finish (not sunburst, actually like older F-9's were)
- logo is a decal

Both have tone bar bracing and satin finishes.

I'm guessing that the bodies are essentially identical "in the white" before fitting the necks and doing the finishing. But it would take someone like Dave Harvey of Gibson to answer that definitively.

I think the greatest "difference" between the two instruments is the "feel" that each is designed to convey towards the player.

The F-9 represents the "traditional" Gibson-styled mandolin with an eye towards the "feel in your hands" of a 1920's-era instrument.