PDA

View Full Version : Who would have thunk it?

blindboy
Dec-15-2009, 1:36am
OK... I have been playing music for many years mostly acoustic, but mostly guitar up until about 4 years ago when I picked up the mandolin. I had always thought that a pick is something that you use to play your instrument and short of gauge they are pretty much the same(a ####### piece of plastic). Anyways... call me stubborn, but when I started hearing of all these $10 plus picks I thought these people are crazy! Anyways... a few month ago I broke down and bought some wegen picks($15.00 for 2!). After playing with them for a bit and getting used to them I started to compare them to my 25 cent picks. MAN! what a difference. I would have never thought that a pick could make that much of a difference in tone. Always thought it was the mandolin and the player(which obviously does make a difference as well :) ). Anyways... I guess I'm always the skeptic and late getting on board(hey... I just bought a George Forman grill :) ), but the bottom line is... these picks do make a difference ! Yet to break down on the $35 blue chips... can they sound twice as good as the wegens?

Mike Snyder
Dec-15-2009, 2:56am
Some folks think so, and I'm not arguing with them. It's really a "to each, his own" type of deal. My ears say the Wegan and BC are too bright. I prefer the Red Bear xtra-heavy and (especially) the Freakishly Large V-Pick, for darkness and volume. The V-pick is a cheap experiment at $4 to $5 a pop. I'm thinking that I'm in the minority, as a whole bunch of guys love the Wegan and BC. A 35cent Dunlop 207 makes a good mando pick, too. So, ya pays yer money, ya takes yer chance. There is a great deal of tonal difference from pick to pick. What sounds best on your Ellis may differ from what sounds good on your Stanley. You lucky dog.

Ivan Kelsall
Dec-15-2009, 3:24am