PDA

View Full Version : Washburn Jethro Burns F5 Model

idif
Feb-11-2004, 8:19am
Hi this is my first posting and I am a pure beginner ( button accordion is my instrument really ). I am about to choose a mando ( for bluegrass ) , and have only "messed " around doing scales with a friend's Oscar Schmidt F5 and on a Washburn Jethro Burns model ( which I love the looks and feel of. . but was concerned about volume ). I am definitely going to get a solid wood mando..but am torn between the JB model and a Michale Kelly ( which I've read rave reviews of ). Can anyone direct me to expert reviews on the Washburn JB model ..to learn how it compares with the MK mandos?.. BTW I am in Italy .. but am a U.S. citizen.

THANKS for any help and opinions of any sort. IDIF

DannyB
Feb-11-2004, 8:59am
idif, I had a Jethro Burns model M4S for about 23 years and the same problem with volume. I put a deer antler saddle and although it gave me more volume it also made it sound thinner. I haven't heard a MK but like you I've heard alot of good comments and reviews. The absolute best thing you can do if possible is to play an MK and see the difference yourself. I do however believe a Washburn or at least the older ones are a decent mandolin. Don't know if this helps you any but goodluck in whatever you decide.

idif
Feb-12-2004, 9:55am
Thanks for the info and for confirming my fears of low volume... though I'm no expert I heard that the earlier ( Japan made JB's ) were of higher quality than the current Korean production. I keep hearing pros and some cons on the MK's..but haven't found a viable alternative in an Fstyle price, quality and lookswise.. all advice welcome.. IDIF

Bobby Brite
Feb-13-2004, 1:21pm
Are you content on a F-style? The Weber Absoraka is a great mandolin with great volume and you can pick one up for just a little more than the higher end MK.

johnwalser
Feb-13-2004, 7:11pm