PDA

View Full Version : Jointing Tools

Brookside
Feb-10-2004, 10:28pm
Seems I begin all my post with "sorry for such a stupid question..." Let us just assume that I'm sorry from here on out OK?

I'm not only new to mandolin construction but I'm also new to woodworking of any kind. I know this is a woodworking 101 question but could some of you share with me how you prepare your two boards for joining? Specifically what tool are you using? I'm willing to spring for some nice fancy power gadget if I know exactly what to get. I've had average success in the past with a plane but I found it tedious and laborious, mostly due to the fact that my plane is a piece of crapola. Any input is appreciated.

Chris Baird
Feb-10-2004, 10:59pm
Get a jointing plane off ebay and fix it up. I got one at a yard sale and sanded and sanded and sanded it flat. It took me two weeks to true it up but it does the job. I clamp it upside down in my vice and run the billet across it. I should make a shooting board for it. I do have a power jointer that I use to get close. A couple swipes on the power jointer and a couple on the plane and its as good as it gets. A 15 min job.

oldwave maker
Feb-11-2004, 12:07am
Stanley #7 plane, ron hock blade, clifton sheffield capiron, shooting board. surface the bottom of each billet half on a stationary belt sander first. work both halves across shooting board till no sunlight shows thru the center joint with minimal pressure. heat gluing surfaces with heat gun or solar energy, apply fresh hot hide glue to joint surface of 1 half, quickly rub onto other half clamped in vise, hold to count of 20, start carving the next day. worked well for my last 300 or so, except for a couple of failures due to use of unseasoned wood.

crawdad
Feb-11-2004, 2:27am
Question? How do keep the plane from chewing up your shooting board?

GaryM
Feb-11-2004, 3:30am
I've never seen anything like that plane before..
It's a beauty!
Thanks for the peek Bill.

joshags03