PDA

View Full Version : Someone please tell me??

Willie Poole
Oct-21-2009, 5:09pm
I have been playing mandolin for over 40 years and I feel stupid for asking but ...What is an Octave mandolin? How does it differ from a normal mandolin that we all know?....I guess its my old age that makes me so forgetfull....

Willie

John Flynn
Oct-21-2009, 5:14pm
An octave mandolin, as pictured in my current avatar, is generally tuned GDAE, but an octave below a regular mandolin. It is a larger instrument. A regular mandolin typically has a scale length of about 14" give or take, and an octave mandolin will have scale length of between 19" and 23".

JEStanek
Oct-21-2009, 5:15pm
Willie, an octave mandolin is a longer scaled (~18-22+ inches vs a mandolin's ~14 inches) instrument tuned GG, DD, AA, EE one octave below a mandolin. You can hear some on this page (http://www.folkofthewood.com/page2522.htm). The Trinity College brand is considered a good starting point for beginner Octave Mandolins.

This photo from 12thfret.com in Canada has the Trinity College Mandolin, mandola, and Octave mandolin in one photo so you can see the differences in size.
http://www.12fret.com/retail/Trinity_college_mandolin_mandola_bouzouki.jpg

Jamie

PS Cross posting with John!

Charley wild
Oct-21-2009, 7:52pm
Okay, if I wanted to take a mandola and tune it like a mandolin would I use mandolin strings or octave mandolin strings? Or either? I have actually thought of doing this, especially with octive mandolin strings. I'm sure I'm not the first one to think of this. A lower sound but a shorter scale. I couldn't imagine doing a four-finger G on an octave mandolin!!

John Flynn
Oct-21-2009, 9:32pm