PDA

View Full Version : Child Interested in Expanding Musical Future

Mandolin2842
Sep-04-2009, 7:45pm
So I'm young. About a year ago I decided I wanted to play music for a living. Mandolin specifically. However, my father, Jeff X, actually does this. Only he plays the banjo. So I've seen first hand how little income it tends to pull in. Therefore, in addition to my goal of playing mandolin for a living, I also made a plan to get a scholarship to Berklee in Boston and study the business of music in hopes that in doing so, I might be able to further my horizons. Doubtful. So that is were goal C and this thread comes in.
I passionately enjoy the mandolin and have always been fascinated by it. So one day it hit me. I want to learn how to build. Unfortunately, I can’t afford to go to the camps for building and such on a single banjo player’s salary. But I do have someone who has offered to teach me if I can bring my own wood and tools, understandably. If I was going to show someone how to build I doubt Id risk having them break my own tools and cost me a few grand.
So to end this terrible ramble of a post, I ask: where can I buy wood/tools on the cheaper side? I really would like to learn and I appreciate any help. Thanks

Musically:mandosmiley:

Moderator's Note: In general it is not appropriate for minors to post their ages or full names. This prevents people from tracking our younger members down so easily. Welcome to the Café but please remember this is a very public space and refrain from posting too much personal information.

mrmando
Sep-04-2009, 8:06pm
First, get a list from your future instructor of exactly what tools he/she expects you to have. Then get on the mailing list for every auctioneer in your area; it's very common for secondhand tools to be sold in estate or business-liquidation auctions. Keep an eye on Craigslist. You can save Craigslist searches to your browser's bookmarks and then check them every day.