PDA

View Full Version : trouble picking

mjohn15
Sep-01-2009, 7:19pm
Can anyone help me? I've been playing mandolin for about 4 years and cannot seem to get a smooth pick rhythm. I sound very staccato and can't seem to hold a note. Any suggestions? The faster I play the worse I seem to sound. I've tried to use slow up and downs in my scales practice, but when I'm with a group playing rapidly, I seem to sink to the short choppy sound. Help!

OldSausage
Sep-01-2009, 7:25pm
What you need to do is work on it at a speed slow enough for you to play it exactly as you want it to sound, and gradually build up speed - over weeks, perhaps months. It takes a very long time to do what you want, and is one of the hardest things about playing mandolin. So have patience with yourself, and play it slowly enough that you can play it right. Gradually edge the speed up, and you will see small improvements every few days. The more hours you can practice each day the quicker it will happen, but I guarantee you will get better.

Also, you should get Mike Marshall's mandolin techniques DVD (#1) and work his practice routines into your daily schedule. Use it as a guide to make sure you're holding the pick and mandolin correctly. If you do his routines every day for about six months, building up speed with the metronome, it becomes a whole lot easier and more fun to play the mandolin, and you will get where you want to be.

Fred Keller
Sep-01-2009, 8:01pm
It's difficult to make assessments without seeing your picking in action, but I suggest starting with an objective critique of your picking hand technique. Perhaps taking a lesson or two with someone whose right hand you admire would help.