PDA

View Full Version : Barry Mitterhoff with Jorma - Hesitation Blues

terzinator
Aug-25-2009, 10:00am
Great vid of Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Casady and Barry Mitterhoff at Minnesota Public Radio studios doing Hesitation Blues. Mitterhoff's mando solo is at 2:00.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_aQtq-BnK6c

Jason Kessler
Aug-25-2009, 11:15am
Very nice.

Lee
Aug-25-2009, 11:59am
Jorma's in great voice too. He can sound raspy. Wish they'd turn up Jack.

Dave Hicks
Aug-25-2009, 12:01pm
Thanks for the link - I've been thinking about transferring that tune from guitar to mando, so that was helpful.

D.H.

Wesley
Aug-25-2009, 12:25pm
I could listen to that stuff all day long. Thanks. What does Mitterhoff play - it wasn't a Brentrup was it?

Dan Hoover
Aug-25-2009, 12:49pm
that was very cool..great song

terzinator
Aug-25-2009, 1:53pm
As well as I can see the headstock, it kind of looks like it says Brentrup. But I'm not an expert... yet.

AlanN
Aug-25-2009, 2:05pm
Very nice, thanks for posting that. Barry fits right in, even hear a Jethro lick or 2...and he chops!

To me, look like it says Buckeye.

Ivan Kelsall
Aug-26-2009, 2:05am
Incredible player!. I saw & met him in the UK many years back when he was playing with the Lynn Morris Band & he used a capo.It was the first time i'd ever seen a Mandolin player use one (not that i'd seen many Mandolin players over here at that time). His record 'Silk City',which i have on LP,is still one of the best Mandolin recordings i have - by anyone !,
Ivan

Miked
Aug-26-2009, 6:18am
I could listen to that stuff all day long. Thanks. What does Mitterhoff play - it wasn't a Brentrup was it?
That would be a Buckeye. Very nice sounding mandolin!

terzinator
Aug-26-2009, 8:14am
very similar logos!

http://www.thehartbrothers.com/buckeye_Files/mando_Headstock.jpg

http://www.brentrup.com/gallery/content/bin/images/large/22_O_p_h.jpg

Mandomax
Aug-26-2009, 9:19am