PDA

View Full Version : DADGAD Guitar Primer

John Flynn
Aug-22-2004, 6:43pm
I attended an Irish session about a few weeks ago and I loved it. The music and the people were great! But it's going to take me a quite a while to get up to speed with those meolodies on the mando. That is firmly in the "long term goals list."

However, the DADGAD stuff the guitarists were doing, sounded great, looked very interesting and seemed well within my cababilites as far as technique and hand/ear coordination on the guitar. I am a very decent guitarist with a few decades experience, but unfortuantely, I haven't done any work in DADGAD yet.

So I am planning on attending a DADGAD workshop with Al Petteway in about a month and I would like to spend some time getting up to speed on that tuning before then, so I can come off as at least slightly more than a total clod. Does anyone have any recommendations as to a good basic DADGAD instructional book/CD or any web instructional material on this tuning? I know Al P. has a book/CD out, but it was hard to tell from the description if it is all DADGAD and if it is appropriate to my situation. Thanks in advance for your help.

Jacob
Aug-23-2004, 12:30am
I have found The Irish DADGAD Guitar Book - Sarah McQuaid (http://www.ossianusa.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=ossian&Product_Code=00106-IB&Category_Code=INST), which has a companion cassette, to be a good introductory method. #
Some of the material is pretty basic, aimed at newer guitar players, but it has a DADGAD fingerboard chart, chord diagrams,
and a couple of dozen tunes in tablature and standard notation.
It also has a brief section on using DADGAD for backing traditional Irish tunes at sessions.
Here (http://www.torvund.net/guitar/OpenTuning/DADGAD.asp) is a collection of DADGAD material.

Steve L
Aug-23-2004, 4:39am