PDA

View Full Version : Worth setting up?

apotheosis415
Aug-12-2009, 11:03am
Hey ya'll,

My first thread so be gentle...

I am new to stringed instruments. I have been mainly a trumpet and alto sax jazz man. I have never played guitar for more then a few hours. I just went strait for the mandolin.

I received my first mandolin from my folks for the holidays and it was a Rouge Brand. Not the highest of quality, but to get my chops down, I was stoked with it. After many broken strings trying to set it up on my own, I decided to upgrade with a brand called Revival. Its a mahogany A-style. I had it set up by a great guy in San Francisco and it plays wonderfully.

I work an 8-5 ~o) and usually spend my lunch working cause I really don't like taking an hour off in the middle of my day. But I'd really love to practice on my lunch but I really don't want to have to carry my case around every day on the bus in San Francisco.

Finally my question: Do you think its worth fixing up the treacherous rogue or saving for a month or so and buying another Revival. I got the revival for about 200. The gentleman who set up my revival said he did one a week or so back and said it was terrible. Almost not even worth it he said. But I figure Id ask ya'll first!

Thanks for your time!

CES
Aug-12-2009, 11:13am