PDA

View Full Version : Dawg Picks

Coy Wylie
Feb-09-2004, 9:44pm
Since I started playing mandolin, I've become quite the pick connoisseur, sampling many and chaning every few days. Picks were never so important in my guitar playing. Yet on mando I can feel and hear the difference from pick to pick.

But I digress... http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

I saw in the classifieds where Greg Boyd has a new shipment of the Dawg picks so I ordered a half-dozen for $6.95 including shipping. I just wanted to draw attention to their availablity again.

evanreilly
Feb-10-2004, 8:34pm
Is there any obvious, noticable difference between the 'new' Dawg picks & the originals. same size & specs?? the originals came in black, white & ts I believe.

GaryPrice
Feb-14-2004, 11:24pm
Are Dawgs and Golden Gates essentially the same?

mandoJeremy
Feb-14-2004, 11:37pm
Hold it Evan and Gary, the original (probaly 2 years old) Dawg picks are NOT the same as the original David Grisman signature picks. The original David Grisman picks are very, very close to the Golden Gate's and the GG didn't become GG's until the Grisman pick was discontinued. The David Grisman picks were originally offered in White, Black, Clown Puke, and Tortoise Shell colored. The turtle colored ones always sounded best and I don't know why except for the difference in polymers. I still have some of the Black and White ones (reason in itself for racial diversity!) but they don't sound as good as the TS ones and I guess that is why they released the DAWG pick in TS color. No, Dawgs and Golden Gates are not the same at all.

Coy Wylie
Feb-15-2004, 12:08am
I've got a half dozen of the tortoise type new Dawgs on the way. I've never played with the old ones. I hope they are not like GG's as I don't care for the tone they produce. I post back when I get them.

Michael H Geimer
Feb-15-2004, 11:54am
" Are Dawgs and Golden Gates essentially the same? "