PDA

View Full Version : Higher Level Instrument for NOOB?

ChasBo
Jul-29-2009, 8:07pm
I'm a beginner that played guitar when younger. -Played piano and organ since very young so I understand music theory. I intend to play bluegrass only. I've got the funds to purchase a used Gibson F-5C or F-9 or maybe a Weber Fern. I really like the woody full tone out of these instruments. I would rather make one quality purchase than purchasing a bottom end import and having to go through the hassle of selling it latter. I have located a Gibson F5-C from the mid 90's signed by Weber. Its been played quite a bit so it's probably "opened up" as you guys say. In great shape, no damage but I wonder about worn out frets and if it would be okay for a new guy? What pitfalls do I need to be aware of? The dealer selling this instrument has a reputable history.:confused:

Chris Biorkman
Jul-29-2009, 8:15pm
I'd be careful buying a Gibson without seeing it and hearing it first. Their quality is all over the map. That said, there are some good ones to be had. If you have your heart set on a Gibson, I'd look at the ones made in 2000 or after.

man dough nollij
Jul-29-2009, 9:56pm
I'd be careful buying a Gibson without seeing it and hearing it first. Their quality is all over the map.

Is that really true of the Weber/Flatiron/Gibsons, though? I have heard pretty much only good things about those.

mandroid
Jul-29-2009, 10:09pm
The new Jam Masters and A/F-9 series Gibsons have good solid construction , only less trim details
You have the lifetime guarentee if you buy new.
Weber has some nice but bling bypassing ones too.

John Gardinsky
Jul-29-2009, 10:15pm