PDA

View Full Version : Much more blues than bluegrass.

smilnJackB
Aug-20-2004, 7:22am
A fair amount of people still don't recognize a mandolin. #If they do recognize it, they tend to expect me to play some bluegrass... # Now I like a little high quality BG - in small to moderate doses. #But overall, I am a Gospel and Blues man. #
# It feels good when I can win someone over and hear them say something on the order of , "That's cool. #I didn't know you could get so bluesy with a mandolin."
# # http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/cool.gif # Jack
PS: #I like these clickable smileys, but one with a bluesy hat would be neat. # http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

Aug-20-2004, 7:39am
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/blues.gif

Dave Caulkins
Aug-20-2004, 10:11am
Heh,

Yeah, I run into that all the time! When I sat in with a performer after work one night (I'm a chef at a restaurant that has live music), he actually kept choosing country-esque material. I don't think people realize that the mandolin is versatile, even my bandmates were surprised that I wanted to play mandolin on our blues tunes.

Hopefully, if enough mandophiles keep playing jazz/blues/rock/polka on the little powerhouses people will realize the nature of the instrument!

Dave

Bruce Evans
Aug-20-2004, 10:16am
Are you guys playing F style mandos? If so, maybe that is what is prompting the bluegrass expectations. If you saw a guy with a Gibson Flying V, you sure wouldn't expect to hear some cool jazz, would you?

I'm not saying it's right, but it might be a reason why.

Dave Caulkins
Aug-20-2004, 10:28am
Nope,

Both my mandos are "A" style. I do play bluegrass, and I enjoy old country - I guess its the stereotype that gets to me sometimes. I could see where an "F" would be instantly associated with bluegrass.

Dave

bmac
Aug-20-2004, 1:23pm