PDA

View Full Version : Easy Tunes to Pick on OM

Adare_Steve
Aug-19-2004, 6:07pm
After several months of bashing out chords (and some cross picking) on my Fylde Bouzouki, I'm now ready to learn a few tunes. I'll be playing the tunes on my (much discussed) Freshwater Octave Mandola. the first tune I've started to learn is 'out on the ocean', which I have to say, I found pretty simple to learn, and so I assume it's in the 'easy pickin' category.

I'd like some suggestions for similarly easy to pick Irish tunes, please.

I'm using GDAD tuning, which I found worked well for my first tune. If you have thoughts on whether I should tune the D back up to E, I'd be pleased to hear them - and your reasons. As I said, I'm very new to picking out tunes.

Thanks for any suggestions,

Steve

Dolamon
Aug-20-2004, 6:35am
Steve - I'd suggest getting a copy of John McGann's instruction book on Bouzouki and O/M. He explores a ton of possiblities and directions and will really help in exploring the remarkable potential of this instrument. He does a few things in alternate tunings - but if GDAd works for you - keep exploring. I'm having a hard time loading the specific URL for his O/M book but HERE (http://www.johnmcgann.com/) is his web site, just go to Instructional Books and scroll down to the O/M section ...

It seems he has a PDF of one of his tunes from the book now listed on his web site - again, I can't get it load on my reluctant ISP at this moment so ... enjoy. Finally - - got it. (http://www.johnmcgann.com/om.html)

Bruce Evans
Aug-20-2004, 6:44am
Try some of the slower ones like:
Si Bheag, Si Mhor (or Sheebeg Sheemore, depending on where you find it)
Midnight on the Water
South Wind

Adare_Steve
Aug-20-2004, 3:01pm
Thanks for the tune ideas, Tocotoda.