PDA

View Full Version : $500-$1000 mandolin spec questions - from a first-timer

balkmajm
Jul-19-2009, 10:48am
Greetings,

Well, here's my first post about buying my first mandolin. Exciting!

So I'm a relative newb looking for a decent F primarily for bluegrass. My price range is about $300-$800, which corresponds to what I've pretty much narrowed my choice down to: Rover RM-75, The Loar LM-500/Golden Age, LM-600, LM-700, or one of the Kentuckys: 630, 675, 700, 805, 855. I think these are all great-looking, and the ones I've been able to try out or hear are all great-sounding. I've got some questions about some of the different features on these, and whether or not they're worth the extra money to get.

First off I was wondering about polyester, oil, gloss, nitrocellulose lacquer etc. finishes. I'm told that especially for bluegrass what I really want is the lacquer since the punch/bark effect is dramatically better than a mandolin with a polyester finish. This is why I was cautioned away from the Michael Kellys. I've played on a MK and a Kentucky and I can notice a difference even with my novice ear, and I believe all the models I mentioned above have either glossy or nitrocellulose. Any advice?

Next, can anyone educate me on the difference between "solid", "solid handcarved", and "solid, handcarved, and accurately graduated" spruce tops, and between "solid", "solid handcarved", and "solid, handcarved, (highly) flamed" maple back and sides? Is there a big difference in sound quality or durability or anything, enough to warrant the extra $100+ in price? And also, what are tone bars?