PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on making inexpensive homemade tools

mandosonthemarsh
Jul-14-2009, 7:05pm
Hi again. I need some advice on construction a clamping system to hold my guitars and mandolins in place while I work on them. I do not want to spend a boatload of money. I would like to go the homemade route, for I am just starting out. My next project will be regluing a pickguard on a 70's Alverez acoustic guitar. It is curling up on the ends. Also I would like to know a simple clamping setup and the correct glue to use. Are there glues on the market that are forgiving in that you can wipe them off if you get some on the wrong spot? Thanks again for all your input! Bruce.

Michael Lewis
Jul-15-2009, 12:37am
Your pick guard situation depends on whether there is finish under the guard or not. If there is finish under there just clean the area up and put a self adhesive guard on. If there is bare wood you need to apply several coats of lacquer to build the thickness to match the surrounding finish. Whatever you do the surface needs to be clean and flat, no lumps or dips or they will telegraph through the new guard.

Many years ago we used to use 3M contact cement for re applying pick guards, but no more. Now we use 3M transfer adhesive, which is much more forgiving, easier to use, and does a much nicer job. Transfer adhesive is just the adhesive between two sheets of slick paper. Peel one paper and stick the stuff to your guard, then peel the other paper and stick the guard down. Take your time to make a nice clean job and you will be well rewarded.

Mattg
Jul-15-2009, 10:25am
Hi again. I need some advice on construction a clamping system to hold my guitars and mandolins in place while I work on them.

Many luthiers simply use a nice clean pad of some kind and a neck rest. This is sufficient for many common repair operations. Not sure why you would need a clamp. Seems like an opportunity to damage an instrument.