PDA

View Full Version : My lowly Washburn ;)

Brian Krashpad
Jul-13-2009, 10:30am
I'm a newbie player and only have one mandolin, a Washburn OM-10E "Faith" model:

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6636/mandocroppedez9.jpg

My dad lent me his old German-made '60's Framus mandolin awhile back (which I'm guessing is a fair instrument, sure is pretty anyhow) and asked for it back, so I checked out the local Craigslist and picked up this Washie for $85.

I've been playing it in church for the last couple weeks and it seems to get the job done, so I have no complaints at all.

PS-- no offense intended to anyone who has the same or a similar model, I don't know zip about mandolins but simply from the price I reckon this must be a budget axe.

Fran
Jul-13-2009, 11:21am
It's more about the player and his/her talent than the instrument! Besides, how many people who listen to your playing know about mandolins? So, love your little Washburn, keep it tuned and treat her well. She will return the favours...

Brian Krashpad
Jul-13-2009, 11:26am
It's more about the player and his/her talent than the instrument! Besides, how many people who listen to your playing know about mandolins? So, love your little Washburn, keep it tuned and treat her well. She will return the favours...

Haha, no doubt, it's just that right now I'm not too long in the talent department. Still, at least I know not to play over my head, and experience on other instruments allows me to "cover" pretty well, so, so far I reckon I've got most people fooled.

;)

Patrick Market
Jul-13-2009, 12:11pm

I couldn't agree more. I have moved onto a very nice Hohner, but I still have my Bently, which I got 6 years ago for maybe $95. It's my beater, and it doesn't have the sound quality of my new toy or so many of the other makes that are touted in this forum. All the same, it is near and dear.

I think your Wash looks dandy. Thanks for sharing the pic.

RichM
Jul-13-2009, 12:46pm