PDA

View Full Version : Signing off for a while...

pklima
Aug-18-2004, 8:59am
I hope this doesn't start some giant flame war...

I've decided to concentrate on bass and give up on the mando, guitar and most everything else. This is really less of a decision and more of a recognition of facts. I'm a much better bassist than anything else. There's also much more demand for bassists, and none of the other instruments have been played outside my house since last year. Well, house and backyard, to be precise. So everything else gets neglected while my bass skills improve.

I still enjoy playing mando (and have just figured out I like mandola even better), but being a multi-instrumentalist isn't very useful if one can play any low-end instruments with any degree of skill. I'm keeping the cello banjo, though, as that makes a good portable bass substitute. Being tuned in fifths and having frets makes it a distant mando-cousin, doesn't it?

Perhaps I'll come back to mando someday. Maybe I'll take up tuba instead, or pick up electric bass again (I gave that up a few years ago). I'll see...

Tom C
Aug-18-2004, 9:09am
Good luck and I hope you never completely put it down.

vkioulaphides
Aug-18-2004, 10:11am
Your choice. Best of luck. Hardly flame-worthy, Peter.

Speaking for myself, however, I never let making a living on the bass get in the way of all the fun I have on the mando. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif

P.S. ... lousy mandolinist as I may be.

Stay in touch!

Jim Garber
Aug-18-2004, 10:38am
No flaming at all Peter. You have been a worthy contributor to this board. Cello banjo is not all that far from its mando cousins so please "stop by" whenever you feel like it. You are always welcome here.

In fact the bass is just a mandolin turned upside down in tuning http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Jim

Rex
Aug-18-2004, 9:56pm