PDA

View Full Version : It's Baaaack! Distressed 1942 F5 on eBay.

Zigeuner
Jun-28-2009, 1:59pm
Forgive me if someone else has started a thread on this instrument. I recall a thread from a while back when there was a lively discussion about whether the wear on the top was natural (long fingernails, overzealous play, etc.) or done to create some "ambience".

I don't recall if I said this before or if I said anything before but I've now come to a conclusion after looking at the picture closely for a few minutes.

Note that the damage to the top extends all the way to the very base of the fingerboard. It's in an area where a picker couldn't reach with a pick or a fngernail, even if he or she wanted to. If the damage were natural, it would be in areas where a picker could reach, not all the way to the edge of the fingerboard.

That and the extremely clean look of the exposed wood leads me to believe that someone did this deliberately. If so, it's really a shame.

I'm not a pro picker, still just a rank amateur, yet part of the fun for me has been taking good care of my instruments. I have far more experience with guitar making and repair than mandolins yet It really irks me that someone would think that this would be stylish.

So, I'm firmly convinced that this was a needless defacement of a very nice instrument. I'm probably not alone in this view since this mandolin has been listed several times and has yet to be sold. It seems to be on eBay every time I run though my vintage Gibson search.

Whay say ye?

Z.

http://cgi.ebay.com/VINTAGE-GIBSON-1942-F-5-MANDOLIN-RARE-WARTIME-FIND_W0QQitemZ260380686379QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_De faultDomain_0?hash=item3c9fe5f82b&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A1205%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50

allenhopkins
Jun-28-2009, 11:08pm