PDA

View Full Version : Mike Marshall's Mandolin Fundamentals, Vol.1 - My Thoughts

Alex Orr
Jun-23-2009, 12:02pm
I think I'll be controversial today... :grin:

Up front, let me just say I'm an avid hobbyist picker who's played for about 2 1/2 years. I don't claim to be an expert...these are just my opinions.

I've been going over this for the last week and IMO, I would say that it is a very good asset for the beginner. I would actually recomend that anyone starting off pick this up and perhaps give it a once through before they do anything else. I still advocate starting out with the Horne book to build your knowledge of the instrument, but Marshall's DVD has some great info on some really basic concepts to help avoid bad habits. I also think that it could only help your playing if you start using some of his exercises as practice warm-up early on. However...