PDA

View Full Version : thingy behind the bridge

Hillsdale Leroy
Jun-18-2009, 1:32am
O.K. I am a newbie, still waiting on the mandolin to get here. Until then I have been trying to glean as much info as I can about mandos and playing them. I have noticed in pictures that some mandos have an apparatus "woven" thrugh the strings behind the bridge or rubber "grommets" in between the strings. What are these called, and what do they do? Thanks for smartening me up.~:>

Pete Braccio
Jun-18-2009, 2:11am
They are there to dampen harmonics coming from the strings in back of the bridge. Generically they are called string dampers of silencers.

I also use mine (a Weber Wood Nymph) as a rest instead of resting the heel of my hand by the bridge.

Pete

Soupy1957
Jun-18-2009, 4:27am
Jerry Byers (in this forum) sells em.......they don't cost much at all.........they work.

Before long you'll find that you want to get, and WILL get, a bunch of different gadgets.

-that special strap (The bailey strap is very nice)
-those special picks
-gorilla snot (a product that helps you hang on to your pick)
-that certain contact tuner
-the bird cage for the back of the mando (proper name I don't recall)
-A few different brands of string sets to try out
-a humidifier for your case
-a stand

the list seems endless sometimes............meanwhile.........enjoy the instrument.....leave it out where you'll trip over it every day, and play, play, play.....

Tracy Ballinger
Jun-18-2009, 5:11am
[QUOTE=Soupy1957;680211]Before long you'll find that you want to get, and WILL get, a bunch of different gadgets.
-the bird cage for the back of the mando (proper name I don't recall)/QUOTE]

:)) Soupy! They do kinda look like bird cages, don't they? Hadn't thought of that before. They're really called tone guards.

jim_n_virginia
Jun-18-2009, 6:10am
Before long you'll find that you want to get, and WILL get, a bunch of different gadgets.
-the bird cage for the back of the mando (proper name I don't recall)