PDA

View Full Version : High or low action.

Jimmijames
Jun-16-2009, 2:39pm
So, I'm still kind of new to mandolin set up. I come from an electric guitar background. I'm used to the string action being as low as possible. I took my mando to the local mando repair guy (I'm guessing he's good, since everyone in town uses his services) and asked him if he could check out the action and see if it could go any lower. He took a look at it and said the action was way too low.

Mike Marshall says you should have the action low in his instructional DVD.

My question is, which do you prefer? High or low action? and why? and what do you consider high/low?

Cheers,
Jim

NickAlberty
Jun-16-2009, 2:46pm
I like a relatively high to medium action......if that makes sense. I definitely do not use a low action. I think it depends on the mandolin as well. Some mandolins seem to work better with different actions.

I like high because there's no buzzing on any frets and it also seems that the tone is better (more full) and the volume seems a little louder. (we're always going for more volume right?)

That's my preferences.

I have heard it said that low action benefits you in that it's easier to finger and fret. You also seem to get some more tone off of hammer ons and pull offs with a low action.

Chris Keth
Jun-16-2009, 2:50pm
It can be pretty low but you don't want to hear any buzzing. On an electric guitar, you can have a pretty good amount of fretbuzz before you can actually hear it through the amp so you can set the strings lower. On a mandolin, what you hear is what you get. You also want to be able to really play it hard without buzz for some things. If you can't give it a good hard chop without hearing buzz, then it's too low.

Tim2723
Jun-16-2009, 2:53pm
Hi Jim and welcome!