PDA

View Full Version : Where to get started?

Chris Berardi
Jun-03-2009, 7:35am
Hello,

I just bought a new mandolin - Rogue RM-100A - to learn the mandolin. I am a complete beginner to this instrument (which is why I bought a cheap one, to test it out).

Previously, I have played the guitar about 10 years ago - mostly heavy rock (lots of power chords). I can also play piano a little bit.

My question is on where do I start for learning the mandolin? I bought "Alfred's Teach Yourself to Play Mandolin" and "Hal Leonard's Mandolin Method Book 1". I can read music, so I can skip the redundant "this is a whole note, etc." sections. What should I be focusing on in my picking this instrument up?

Where I want to go with my playing: I'd like to primarily play Italian and Croatian folk music and also classical pieces. Perhaps, but in a distant second, also some bluegrass. I'd also like to focus more on learning from actual scored music than tabulature.

abuteague
Jun-03-2009, 7:54am
Where are you located? Are there others with the same interests where you live?
Are lessons possible?

I'd get a nice book CD/DVD combo of the music you like so you can listen and/or watch a good deal while you play.

How about this one: Traditional Southern Italian Mandolin and Fiddle Tunes http://www.melbay.com/product.asp?ProductID=21488BCD.
I don't own it myself, but the sound samples sound fun to play. It has notation as well as tab, but some books do that to expand their market.

Has anyone tried this book?

Anyway. I'd listen to a piece until I had it stuck in my head (for me, it takes like 20 times of listening to the piece). Then I'd start sight reading it until that was comfortable. If you really like the tune, I'd keep going until it was memorized. Then play with the CD, or if that is too fast, play for yourself.

There is nothing like really knowing a tune so you can just play it when you pick up an instrument.