PDA

View Full Version : Ethics question

Rroyd
Feb-08-2004, 11:49pm
I'm relatively new to the cafe, and maybe this has been hashed over before, but a couple of recent threads have inspired me to run this hypothetical situation by the members to get some reactions.
# #Joe is in the musical instrument business, selling both new and used, from the cheap to the holy grails. #He has been at it long enough to be known as a good source for whatever the player might desire. #One day he receives a call offering him one of those prized instruments; #they strike a deal, and Joe rubs his hands with glee, as he knows he can turn this little beauty for 5 times what he paid for it. #The word goes out about what Joe has for sale, and shortly Joe has a buyer.
Unfortunately, the buyer notices in the classifieds in a national magazine that his new instrument happens to have the same serial number as one being advertised as stolen. #When he calls the phone number in the ad, he finds that, indeed, the instrument he has just purchased had been stolen. #Joe, of course, had no idea that his recent prize purchase was hot, and both bought and sold it in good faith, and is on the horns of a dilemma when contacted by the purchaser. #What does he do? #Does he #(a) return the purchaser's money and help facilitate the return of the instrument to its rightful owner, writing off the loss of his purchase price. #(b) return the purchaser's money and try to recover the money he paid for the instrument, as it is returned to its rightful owner.© decide that, since his dealings were made in good faith, that he will leave it to the legal system to make whatever decisions are deemed appropriate and respond accordingly. #(d) pocket his 80% profit and walk away, accepting no responsibility in the matter. #