PDA

View Full Version : Professional mandolin players and MAS?

frankmsu
May-30-2009, 1:59pm
Do you think professional mandolin players have MAS as much as non-professionals? I am at a level of player ability that I would consider approaching intermediate, and I have MAS bad. I get the notion that great players spend their time playing the mandolin, and not buying and selling. Maybe MAS is not as much a function of player proficiency as it is a personality issue. All I know is, I need a cure!:confused:

Rick Schmidlin
May-30-2009, 2:16pm
The Dawg sure has.

John Flynn
May-30-2009, 2:17pm
Well, I don't know the whole stories, but Compton, Dawg, Thile and Steffy, just to name a few, seem to do a fair amount of horse trading and upgrading. Sure, they can justify it as "tools of the trade," but they would probably sound as good on any well-made mandolin, but still they keep searching for the next big thing.

Jeff Harvey
May-30-2009, 2:33pm
I am a semi retired pro and I never had MAS like most of the people here on this site and I still dont. I play other instruments as well and every instrument I have is nice, but I dont get into the search for the ultimate mando. I spend that energy playing rather than searching.

Chris Biorkman
May-30-2009, 2:40pm
I've heard that David Grisman has amassed a pretty impressive stable of instruments.

MikeEdgerton
May-30-2009, 2:53pm
Mr. Grisman appears to acquire instruments on a regular basis. I pretty much have MAS in check but that doesn't mean I won't be buying any new mandolins. I will but I don't feel the maniacal drive to get a new one that is common to those with MAS.

frankmsu
May-30-2009, 3:27pm
I think if I lived in an area where more people played the mandolin, and there were music stores that carried nice mandolins, I wouldn't have to buy them to have them pass through my hands. Thus, I would not have MAS.

Folkmusician.com
May-30-2009, 3:54pm