PDA

View Full Version : teaching for the first time

Danny Clark
Apr-12-2009, 9:02pm
i have been playing for about 15 years,i soon will be starting to teach young children mandolin at church,any suggessions from you teachers where to start,2 finger chords etc...

Jon Hall
Apr-13-2009, 7:42am
I would recommend two finger chords and then teach them a familiar song, with a simple rhythm asap.

JeffD
Apr-13-2009, 8:04am
What age level?

Might it be appropriate to get some beginner fiddle books at the local music shop. Get them started reading music right from the beginning - as long as there already is a lot to learn.

Just a thought.

pops1
Apr-13-2009, 8:30am
I remember taking piano and organ lessons when i was young, and hated it because the music was boring and unfamiliar. When i give lessons to younger children i try to work the lesson by using songs that they are familiar with and enjoy to keep their interest level up. Sometimes it means custom lessons for each child, but i feel it is worth it. When it gets to scales i tell students why they learn scales and demonstrate what they can do with them. First lesson with scales is a song that stays simply in the scale. I also tell them not to bore themselves with scales, but to use them to warm up and then go on to something fun.

Danny Clark
Apr-13-2009, 12:01pm
7 year old

lenf12
Apr-13-2009, 12:25pm
Good for you Danny!! Also, try to be aware of which kids are having trouble pressing down pairs of strings and consider removing one of each pair. It may be helpful to some of your students to play a 4 string mandolin rather than struggle with an 8 stringer.

ymmv,
Len B.
Clearwater, FL

pops1
Apr-13-2009, 1:31pm
I like a real lite action, and have done setups on students instruments so they are easy to play. It's hard enough without struggling to push the strings down. Usually they have inexpensive mandolins and they play hard so i feel is is a necessity.

jim_n_virginia
Apr-13-2009, 2:19pm