PDA

View Full Version : Southern California

Greg Wilson
Apr-12-2009, 2:43pm
I am new to the mandolin and southern CA. I am trying to learn about the bluegrass scene around Santa Barbara where I live. Anyone from this area could inform me about jam meetings, camps, good bands etc I would greatly appreciate it. I have played guitar for a number of years but would really like to find a local instructor experienced in bluegrass. Or just people to play with!

Chris Biorkman
Apr-12-2009, 2:49pm
There is a jam at Zoey's in Ventura. It's a coffee shop near the mission on Main Street. As far as instructors, I know Phil Salazar teaches in Ventura. I'm a little south of you and I go to Tom Corbett in Grenada Hills from time to time.

mandozilla
Apr-12-2009, 2:52pm
Hello GDWilson and welcome to the Mandolin Cafe!

You, my friend, are in luck. There's quite a bit of bluegrass going on in the Santa Barbara area. I hope this info might help you.

:mandosmiley:

Greg Wilson
Apr-12-2009, 2:54pm
Thanks! I will make a trip down to Ventura and check out the store.

mandozilla
Apr-12-2009, 3:02pm
I think you'd better call first. I don't know if Phil keeps regular hours or not.

Stephen Lind
Apr-12-2009, 3:55pm
I'm a little south of you and I go to Tom Corbett in Grenada Hills from time to time.

Tom gave me a huge jump start when i started playing mandolin
it was well worth the 60 mile drive

Ransome
Apr-13-2009, 3:38pm
I think you'd better call first. I don't know if Phil keeps regular hours or not.

That's the funniest thing I have ever heard, Phil and regular in the same sentence. Phil and I are great friends and I have my first mando lesson tomorrow with him. He has sat in numerous times with my bands; mostly for the girls at the gigs (his words, not mine).

He has such an amazing grasp of the violin and how sits within the groove. Also being a stringed instrument freak of nature helps.