PDA

View Full Version : Harmony Mandolins

firehead
Apr-10-2009, 8:48pm
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to the mandolin, already a guitar player.
Just bought my first mandolin on ebay. The only problem is I didn't really think it through, and from what I researched harmonys aren't the best.
Anyway I was just wondering if anyone had any info on it.
Its an H 1240 with an oval soundhole, and the main reason why i bought it was because of the condition, it's very good. As soon as i figure out how to put up a picture i will.

Thanks to everyone in advance.

firehead
Apr-10-2009, 9:47pm

Ok, figured it out
here it is.

MikeEdgerton
Apr-10-2009, 10:25pm
Those were entry level mandolins built by Harmony under several brand names from the 30's or so on into the 60's. They weren't real elegant but they were solid woods as far as I know. Most I've seen were pretty hard to play and I had trouble selling the last one I had until I dropped the price real low. Look inside and see if there is another stamp in a square, circle or oval that says something like F64 or S68. The number you provided is the model number, the number I'm looking for is actually a date code. It may or may not be there.

firehead
Apr-12-2009, 10:26am
Can't seem to find any numbers on the inside. Hopefully with practice i'll be able to upgrade soon. Thanks Again.

Richard Singleton
Apr-12-2009, 7:40pm
Looks similar to the Harmony Stella that I picked up on ebay a few years ago as a mandolin for my daughter when she was younger, so she wouldn't try to play my Weber Aspen. I had it set up with light strings and the action is pretty good, makes a nice campfire and beach beater mando and doesn't sound bad at all. She doesn't play it much, prefers the new Kay baritone uke I got her Christmas before last which she knows chords for, and she likes the nylon strings.

MikeEdgerton
Apr-12-2009, 8:46pm
...makes a nice campfire...

Yup, break em up and stuff em in among the logs and they light pretty easily.