PDA

View Full Version : Instrument Photography 101

mandomaniac
Apr-03-2009, 12:32pm
Recently, a forum member, PanaDP, graciously offered me some guidance on how to take better still pictures of instruments. I found his brief tutorial extremely helpful and feel it will make a major difference in my photos. I am a novice at best with a camera, and have been frustrated when the photo just does not show what I see. Simply doing the instrument justice, let alone complimenting it, seemed pretty tough all to often.
For those out there that are in the same boat.....he has generously agreed to let me post his notes to me with the hope that others can benefit as well. This section seemed the appropriate place for this thread....so here goes.....

My hat is off to him.....

"You can do a lot with very, very little equipment. Everything I'm going to tell you is totally independent of equipment. Any camera will do OK. For all of these setups, you'll want to be on the daylight white balance of the camera. If you don't have one or don't know where it is, it's probably automatically done and you'll still be fine.